

Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on Tuesday 17 April 2018 at Fellowship House Willifield Way at 8 pm

Present: Emma Howard - in the Chair, Tony Brand, Alan Brudney, Tony Ghilchik, Jeremy Hershkorn, Adrian Hodgson, Peter McCluskie, Max Petersen, Hella Schrader, Ann Spencer, Gary Shaw, Rosemary Goldstein (Asst Secretary to the Council).

(A risk assessment was carried out in accordance with the agreed format.)

- Emma Howard welcomed Council to her first meeting as Chair of the RA. She:
 - hoped that the new Council would be approachable and helpful to its members:
 - o will aim to end Council meetings by 9.30pm;
 - would like all Standing Committee/Working Group chairs to be members of the HGS List email discussion group to enable them to get a feel for residents' views and concerns:
 - would like a review of the Standing Committees to be carried out to be commenced at the next EC meeting;
 - o hoped to limit the number of emails being circulated within Council:
 - announced that Jonathan Seres had resigned from Council and offered the RA's sincere thanks for all the work he had done for the RA over many years.
 Council asked for this appreciation to be formally minuted and for an appropriate message to be sent to Jonathan.

1. Note Apologies and Absences

Barbara Bliss, Terry Brooks, Colin Gregory, Simon Sackman and Harry Simmonds.

2. Question Time for residents who are not members of Council

There were no questions.

Approve, as accurate, the Minutes of the previous meeting of Council, held on 6 March 2018

3. These were approved with amendments incorporated.

Confirm receipt of draft minutes of Executive Committee meeting held on 20 March

4. This was confirmed.

5. Appointment of Executive Committee members

- 5.1 Council was reminded that the EC is composed of the RA Officers (ex-officio) and the Chairs of those Standing Committees which Council decide should be represented. Plus additional members the number to be decided by Council. An election is held if there were more candidates than the additional places to be filled.
- 5.2 The following were confirmed as members of the EC:

Emma Howard Chair (and Interim Hon Treasurer)
Hella Schrader Vice-Chair and Chair of Events
Peter McCluskie Hon Secretary and Chair of Consam

Terry Brooks Chair of Publications

Tony Ghilchik Chair of Trees & Open Spaces

Gary Shaw Chair of Roads & Traffic

5.3 It was agreed by Council that one additional member should be appointed. Max Petersen and Ann Spencer expressed their wish to stand and told Council why they thought that they should be appointed. An election took place by a show of hands and Ann Spencer was elected to the EC.

6. (i) Approve the Reconstitution of the following Standing Committees and Working Groups

These were approved, as shown below, but it was agreed by Council not to reconstitute the Membership & Marketing Committee which had not actually met for about 3 years.

(ii) Approve the appointment of Council members to these committees and note individuals co-opted* to these committees:

Allotments

Comprises site secretaries (ex-officio). Alan Brudney was appointed to the RA Liaison role and it was noted that, in the absence of a committee chair, Peter Hodgson had agreed to be the central point for general enquiries.

Conservation & Amenities Committee

Peter McCluskie (Chair)

Simon Sackman (Secretary)

Helena Benes*

Janet Elliott*

Helen Leiser*

David Lewis*

Max Petersen (post meeting note – Max resigned from Council and Consam)

Andrew Plaskow*

Louise Scheuer*

Ann Spencer

Events Committee

Helen Schrader (Chair)

Tony Brand

Anita Harlow*

Adrian Hodgson Jeremy Hershkorn Rev Alan Walker* Diane Walsh*

Publications Committee

Terry Brooks (Chair) Lorna Page*(Sec) Daphne Berkovi* Tony Brand Judith Samson*

Roads & Traffic Committee

Gary Shaw (Chair) Barbara Bliss Rupert Denny* Michelle Roiter* Stewart Roiter* Harry Simmonds

Trees & Open Spaces Committee

Tony Ghilchik (Chair)
Lynda Cook (Secretary)*
Alan Brudney
Colin Gregory
David B Lewis*
Philip Samworth*
Maria Schlatter*
Ann Spencer

Bute Mews Working Group

Barbara Bliss (Chair) Christine Murphy* Michael Murphy* Meyer Pearlman* Maria Schlatter* Anthea Yamey* Mervyn Yamey*

7. Approve the appointment of Council and other RA members to the following individual roles:

- (a) Membership Secretary Michelle Roiter
- (b) Membership IT Support Jeremy Clynes
- (c) Golders Green Projects Liaison Peter McCluskie
- (d) Benches & Memorial Seats Harry Simmonds
- (e) Noise Abatement

Gary Shaw

- (f) Notice Boards Sue Aldous
- (g) Electronic Communications
 Frederic Wakefield
- (h) Data Protection Peter McCluskie
- (i) HGS Website & Lists Steve Morris

8. Approve the appointment of Council and other RA members to other organisations:

- (a) Bigwood & Littlewood Management Group
 Alan Brudney, Tony Ghilchik and Colin Gregory
- (b) City of London's Hampstead Heath Consultative Committee Colin Gregory
- (c) HGS Conservation Area Advisory Committee
 Peter McCluskie, Max Petersen and Helena Benes (post
 meeting note Max resigned from Council and Consam and and will
 serve on CAAC in a personal capacity rather than as an RA rep)
- (d) HGS Fellowship

 Janet Elliott tbc by Janet (post meeting note confirmed)
- (e) HGS Heritage
 Janet Elliott
- (f) HGS Trust (nominees)
 - (i) Estate Committee Alan Brudney
 - (ii) Finance Committee

Max Petersen (post meeting note – Max resigned from Council and Consam and became no longer eligible for this role)

(iii) Grants & Amenities Committee

Ann Spencer (post meeting note – it subsequently came to light that this committee no longer has RA nominees and all non-Trust members serve in a personal capacity. Ann remains willing to serve in that capacity if need be.)

(iv) Property & Plans Committee

Max Petersen, Ann Spencer and (as alternate) Helen Leiser (post meeting note – Max resigned from Council and Consam and became no longer eligible for this role)

(g) Kenwood Landscape Forum Maria Schlatter

- (h) London Forum Colin Gregory
- (i) Orchard Housing Society Alan Brudney
- (j) Garden Suburb Police Ward Panel Barbara Bliss and (as main contact) Emma Howard
- It was agreed that it would be useful to have feedback from these representatives in the Annual Report, although some of the bodies link into the existing standing committees.

 Action RA representatives (in due course)

9. Any Other Urgent Business

9.1 Gallery

Emma Howard had done some work to clear space in the RA office and sold some gallery items for £50. Further items and books will be sold at the Summer Fair by the Community Library.

9.2 Notice Boards

Hella Schrader agreed to carry out a review of the Suburb Notice Boards and update the list together with Emma Howard and Sue Aldous

Action Hella S

9.3 Dustbins

Emma Howard is meeting with the LB Barnet area supervisor at Bute Mews on 18th April. She will raise local problems such as Bute Mews, Northway Gardens, the open space alongside 41-55 Addison Way, street refuse bins, broken brown food bins, policy for returning bins after emptying to a safe place and the lack of a green collection throughout the winter period.

Action Emma H

9.4 St Jude's Proms

(i) Volunteers will be required to help at the lunchtime concerts which are subsidised by the RA. To be put on the agenda for the 1 May meeting.

Action Peter M

(ii) Harry Simmonds is working on a suitable banner for the RA.

Action Harry S

9.5 Meadway Gate

Hella Schrader reported that the pergola is falling into disrepair and is becoming a hazard and dangerous. She will send photographs to Tony Ghilchik to enable T&OS to deal with this.

Action Hella S/Tony G

9.6 Michael Rowley Event

This will be held on Sunday 20th May. The speaker is Graham Fisher from the Letchworth Heritage Foundation who will talk about conservation and sustainability of Letchworth Garden City.

10. To confirm the date of the next meeting as Tuesday 1 May 2018 at Fellowship House

This date was confirmed.